The Selfie

The selfie: a photo of oneself, preferably when you look dang good. Of course.

Today I wrote a passive aggressive status on Facebook- I couldn’t help myself. It was as though my deepest rooted annoyances splurged out of my fingers at once…

Stop taking selfies- we all do it, but YOU are out of control. We are sick of your face.

If you read this and thought I was directing this at you… Stop.

As I rewrote that, I had a laugh with myself. Partially because I think it’s true and partially because I realize how obnoxious I have a tendency to be. In all reality, I hate passive aggressiveness. If you’re going to direct comments towards people, be upfront. However, the growing trendepidemic of the selfie leads me to direct this post to no individual in particular… Just all of us.

I get it. I am guilty of the selfie- I take them to check my makeup, I take them to see how my butt looks in a bathing suit if I’m in a picture in my bathing suit, I take them to send to my friends on snapchat, I take them because I feel good.

Sometimes when I feel particularly adorable I wish I could snap a picture and have my friends drown me in compliments. That’s the way I always imagined I would die- drowned in compliments. However, something stops me every time I peruse through twenty photos of myself posing in the passenger seat of a car- I’m being an asshole. No one actually woke up and thought to themselves, Today, I hope Talia posts a photo of herself at her desk. I hope she lets me know that today is a slow day, but hey, TGIF.

Maybe we only share when we feel our best, and we share our desired reality. But I don’t want you to only know the world that I have manifested for myself behind a computer screen- because, it’s not the whole truth. I am not perfect. My hair is not always done. I am not always running or doing yoga or spreading positivity. Sometimes I eat entire chocolate Easter bunnies by myself when I’m home alone (see: yesterday) Sometimes I am unbelievably whiny and enjoy using the phrase- today I hate everyone.

And this is not always me:

20140404-190639.jpg

But this isn’t either:

20140404-190727.jpg
And so after posting a whole lot of nastiness, I requested (under my own selfie) a selfie of others… And the results are in:

20140404-185722.jpg

20140404-185717.jpg

20140404-185707.jpg

20140404-185646.jpg

20140404-190956.jpg

20140404-201658.jpg

20140404-201705.jpg

20140404-201711.jpg

20140404-201717.jpg

20140404-201723.jpg
And what I realized is these pictures make me so happy- I asked for a selfie and I got one. With pets, and babies, and funny faces. We take selfies because they can be quite the good time. So selfie away- just slow your roll… We know what you look like.

18 thoughts on “The Selfie

  1. I believe in my-Selfie! ❤ I know they can be obnoxious on most days, especially when there's always that ONE person who posts NOTHING BUT selfies, but you realize you can't beat them, so join them, and have fun with them! Long live the selfie!! ❤

    • I’ve been there. Or rather than defriending them I just hide them from my news feed. I also have to recognize the irony of how much posting I do not to mention my blog is the selfie of life!

    • The selfies were hilarious! I have so many more too. People messages me texted me and posted on my Facebook wall with selfies. And thanks for the compliment… My twisted death plan is working out!

  2. Thanks for one’s marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading
    it, you may be a great author.I will make sure to bookmark your blog and will often come
    back in the future. I want to encourage you continue your great posts, have a nice holiday
    weekend!

Leave a Reply

