Daily Post: Why, Thank You?

What’s the best (or rather, worst) backhanded compliment you’ve ever received? If you can’t think of any — when’s the last time someone paid you a compliment you didn’t actually deserve?

IMG_2458.PNG
Back handed compliments never fall short in this world, but rather than focusing on the negative I would like to discuss compliments. Obviously. Compliments are the best.

After starting this blog I would get the occasional “you just have it all figured out” as though to suggest just that… I had my life figured out. They would then take it further to state that they did not as though to ask me the greatest question of all: HOW? The craziest part about this situation is that it happened more than once. Each time someone would discuss the life I posted on the internet, I wondered what I was projecting that someone would assume that I solved a piece of life’s puzzle. It felt odd because I often felt as though I had so much to resolve within my own life. The truth is, we all want to figure “it” out and find ourselves, or discover what creates a greater meaning for us in this world. But who has any of these things really figured it? Deepak Chopra?! Certainly not me.

So while it has been exceptionally flattering that people think because I am self-reflective in a public forum that this living this is so easy it’s for the birds, it’s not. I’m just soaking up this world too. And since I have zero insight to provide you with, I’ll leave you with my boy, Deepak.

IMG_0550.JPG

IMG_0552.JPG

IMG_0549.JPG

IMG_0551.PNG

Why, Thank You? | The Daily Post
http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_prompt/why-thank-you/

4 thoughts on “Daily Post: Why, Thank You?

  1. This reminded me of a story I heard about one of my friends. They were all at a stag party and the stripper hadn’t turned up yet. It was at a bar and our friends turned to one of the other bar patrons and asked her if she was the stripper….because “you know, you’re pretty enough to be the stripper”. Nice one bro. Real nice.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Why, Thank You? | tnkerr-Writing Prompts and Practice

Leave a comment